IMG_7791-1600x1200On October 5, 2012, the Youth Crime Watch (YCW) of Miami-Dade County held their “37th Annual Awards Ceremony” at the Double Tree by Hilton Miami Airport and Convention Center. Miami-Dade Schools Police Department Captain Manuel Arrebola had the honor of presenting the 2011-12 YCW School Winners. The winner for Student of the Year was Brianna Linden from Michael Krop Senior High School; Principal of the Year was Ms. Melba Brito from Zelda Glazer Middle School; and School Resource Officer of the Year went to Officer Natasha Flores.

The YCW program is structured to teach leadership skills to students who volunteer to learn about school safety. While they learn how to keep themselves safe, they also learn public speaking, critical thinking, leadership, and other skills that will serve them into their adult lives. This reinforces their self-esteem and promotes positive involvement, again curbing misbehavior, crime and violence in the school.

Congratulations to this year’s winners!